Filed in July 2019, the Microsoft patent demonstrates a charging device for removable input modules. Although there is no special mention of Xbox in the application, several features that look quite similar to a traditional Xbox controller. Some of these features include built-in speakers, a headphone jack, and wireless headphones support. With this given, I can’t wait to get a hold on the technology that could possibly turn my smartphone into an Xbox. With Project xCloud, games would be available on PCs, consoles and on mobile devices. Apart from availability, Microsoft aims to provide an “experience for all gamers on all devices that’s consistent with the speed and high-fidelity gamers experience and expect on their PCs and consoles. According to the drawings, the device will be available in different colors and will features two halves of a controller. Each of these can be attached to the smartphone to create a gaming device. Quite similar to the Nintendo Switch, it will offer immersive landscape gaming. However, unlike the Switch, the smartphone device can be used only to control games that run via Project xCloud games.

Have gaming on your mind? Follow TechThirsty updates for all the latest updates on tricks, tips and launches.

Project xCloud games will allow gamers to stream video games over the internet. This means the gamers will not have to be dependent on a console to render the graphics. Powerful computers at Xbox HQ will be able to process spectacular console-level graphics, and then beam them down to the smartphone, thus allowing a phone to display 4K gaming graphics. During Gamescom, to be held on 19th August 2019, Microsoft will hold a special live Gamescom-themed episode of its Inside Xbox show.

I Can t Wait to Turn My Smartphone into an Xbox Latest News - 51I Can t Wait to Turn My Smartphone into an Xbox Latest News - 7I Can t Wait to Turn My Smartphone into an Xbox Latest News - 19I Can t Wait to Turn My Smartphone into an Xbox Latest News - 57